Day Son & Hewitt Logo



Thomas Day began manufacturing animal medicines in 1833 at Wantage, Oxfordshire, and then a year later on Red Lion Street London. In the same year he launched the first known equine tonic “Black Drink” at a price of 10 shillings for half a dozen bottles. Thomas Day developed his business, by concentrating on the manufacture of equine remedies but in 1846 he closed down his London operation and concentrated the entire business in Wantage.

Day’s son, William Henry Day, became a partner in 1852 after which the business traded as Day & Son Ltd. In 1856, the company re-established itself in London, with premises at 12 Sheldon Street, Paddington, although the Wantage site continued to be active. Shortly afterwards, George Frederick Hewitt was taken into partnership and the company was renamed Day, Son & Hewitt Ltd. In 1862 it moved from Sheldon Street to 22 Dorset Street, London where it remained until the 1950’s.

However, in 1881 the partnership split when the original Day family moved to Crewe and established a new company Day & Son Ltd. George Hewitt remained in London and promoted the good name of Day, Son & Hewitt. The business flourished and was for a long time the largest manufacturer of equine medicines in the country. From 1950 to 2005 the business changed hands twice before it was purchased by The Tangerine Group, along with it’s sister company, Carr & Day & Martin. Since those early formative years, the name Day, Son & Hewitt has become synonymous with trust and to this day customers count on our years of manufacturing experience to ensure their horses receive the very best products available. An example of this was the awarding of the Royal Warrant in 1865 during the reign of Queen Victoria.

We still hold the Royal Warrant today, only this time for the supply of veterinary products to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.